A Penitent Blogger

Mindful of my imperfections, seeking to know Truth more deeply and to live Love more fully.

Quid sum miser tunc dicturus? Quem patronum rogaturus? Cum vix iustus sit securus?
Recordare, Iesu pie, Quod sum causa tuae viae: Ne me perdas illa die...

Wednesday, February 22, 2006

New Cardinals

At the end of today's General Audience, on the Feast of the Chair of Peter, the Holy Father Pope Benedict XVI announced a Consistory to be held March 24, 2006 in which new Cardinals will be created:

  • Archbishop William Levada, Prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith
  • Archbishop Franc Rode, C.M., Prefect of the Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life
  • Archbishop Agostino Vallini, Prefect of the Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signatura
  • Archbishop Jorge Liberato Urosa Savino, Archbishop of Caracas
  • Archbishop Gaudencio Rosales, Archbishop of Manila
  • Archbishop Jean-Pierre Ricard, Archbishop of Bordeaux
  • Archbishop Antonio Canizares Lloveda, Archbishop of Toledo
  • Archbishop Nicholas Cheong Jin-Suk, Archbishop of Seoul
  • Archbishop Sean O'Malley, O.F.M. Cap., Archbishop of Boston
  • Archbishop Stanislaw Dziwisz, Archbishop of Krakow
  • Archbishop Carlo Caffara, Archbishop of Bologna
  • Bishop Joseph Zen Ze-kiun, S.D.B., Bishop of Hong Kong

(The following are over 80 and would be ineligible to vote in a papal conclave)

  • Archbishop Andrea Cordero Lanza de Montezemolo, Archpriest of the Basilica of St. Pauls outside the Walls
  • Archbishop Peter Proeku Dery of Tamale, Archbishop emeritus of Tamale, Ghana
  • Father Albert Vanhoye, S.J., former Rector of the Pontifical Biblical Institute and Secretary of the Pontifical Biblical Commission.